Aare River


Aare River

Aare River from Kornhausbrucke

Aare River from Kornhausbrucke

The Aare River  is a life force in Bern, carving a narrow peninsula around a bend in a wooded river valley. The river created a need for bridges to reach the aldstadt.  Today, there’s a nature park along its banks. The Aare flows only in Switzerland, originating in a glacier, flowing through two lakes before it reaches Bern.  Here is a map of the Aare River.

Five bridges cross the Aare.  One day I crossed all of them to explore different parts of the alstadat.  From the Kornhausbrucke which I crossed many times, you can see the Aare’s milky green currents and understand its importance in Bern’s thousand-year history.  On an early Sunday morning walk,  I looked down from the Kornhausbrucke and saw a narrow walking bridge beneath.  I had no idea I would cross that bridge later in the evening.

walking bridge below brucke

Pedestrian bridge below Kornhausbrucke

Rosengarten

Bern Rosengarten

Bern Rosengarten

I started my morning by hopping on a tram for a visit to the neighborhood, a quiet, modern area with parks, schools, apartment buildings and shaded streets.  Bern has a superb public transit system, clean, modern, punctual.  Miss a bus or tram check the digital monitor to see when the next one is coming by.  Eight minutes was the longest I had to wait.

My destination was the Rosengarten above Bern where the Aare carves its horseshoe bend.  The garden was wonderful, well maintained with wide paths, plenty of benches, not a drop of litter.  Trill of songbirds was especially delightful. I strolled through the gardens, took too many photos, watched families, tourists, pensioners, and young lovers holding hands.  Everyone looked so content.  No wonder.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Lily pond

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I watched grandparents taking their granddaughters through the gardens.  The girls were possibly twins dressed identically, include cute white, frilled caps.  The literally danced through the garden. What a nice moment.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Bern panorama

The rosengarten had been recommended because of the panoramic views of Bern, the Aare, and the aldstadt. So true.

bern panorama from rosengarten

Bern panorama from rosengarten

Aare river from rosengarten

Aare river from rosengarten

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

I found a cobblestone path which descended the hillside and  shaded by trees.  I followed, admiring the views, the serenity, and gentle decline to a street that led to Nydeggbrucke.  A word to those who might visit Bern and go to the rosengarten; if you take the path go down . . . not up.  The cobblestones make it a bit challenging.

Cobblestone path down to Bern

Cobblestone path down to Bern

Peaceful stroll out of rosengarten

Peaceful stroll out of rosengarten

It's a steeper walk up the cobblestones

It’s a steeper walk up the cobblestones

Brucke

I heard loudspeaker booming, crowds cheering, and rock music blaring.  Bern was hosting European mountain bike event, crazy guys bouncing, jumping, twisting bikes to navigate over logs, tree stumps, and stone blocks in an enclosure that looked like a bear pit in a zoo.  Bikers, young men all, were timed as they made their way over the tortuous course.  Can you believe some of these obstacles?

Don't try this at home

Don’t try this at home

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Nydeggbrucke and Kirchenfeldbrucke

Nydeggbrucke over the Aare

Nydeggbrucke over the Aare

After watching for a half hour, I walked across Nydeggbrucke into the aldstadt and continued exploring.  Later in the afternoon, I crossed Kirchenfeldbrucke which had busy bus, auto, and tram traffic.

brucke

Kirchenfeldbrucke

diversion system

River diversion system

Again I was rewarded with views of the Aare, but this time, I noticed a dam that directs water out into a channel rather than along the city’s walls.

Aare Riverwalk

I spent the day walking through the aldstadt, crossing bridges, having lunch, but I still wanted to experience more.  There was another adventure I wanted, walking along the Aare. I walked down a shaded stone path to the riverbank where there was a restaurant and small park.

bank of Aare

Aare river

bern view from river bank

Bern view from Aare river

river walk through woods

Trail through the woods along the Aare

brucke

Nydeggbrucke from the river view

Bear Park

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

The symbol for Bern is a bear going back to an early legend of the first animal hunted before the city was first built.  To acknowledge the role of the bear in Bern’s history , there’s a small bear park below the Nydeggbrucke.

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

Meeting on walking bridge

Pedestrian bridge across the Aare under Kornhausbrucke

Pedestrian bridge across the Aare under Kornhausbrucke

A pleasant June evening on the Aare

A pleasant June evening on the Aare

Pleasant encounter on the walking bridge

I came to the narrow walking bridge I’d seen earlier in the day looking down from Kornhausbrucke.  I met two young Swiss women on the bridge; we had a nice chat, took photos, and wished each other well.  A nice encounter.

New Swiss friends

New Swiss friends

OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERA

End of a delightful evening walking along the Aare

End of a delightful evening walking along the Aare

I ended the evening, walking up a path to Lorrainbrucke which I had crossed my first day.  It was still light  and thought I’d stop for a beer before returning to my pensione.  I met three Germans from former east Germany who work construction in Bern.  We had an interesting conversation, sharing stories in German, Russian, and Italian.

* * * * *

Next:  Thun and Spezia

Please share your comments, i like to hear from readers and fellow travellers.

In addition to writing this travel blog, I write international thrillers, mysteries, and suspense novels.

I’m currently writing a thriller series based in Milan featuring the anti-terrorism police, DIGOS, as they track down domestic and international terrorists.

If you’d like a free ebook of my first thriller, Thirteen Days in Milan,  please sign up on the left side bar.  I just need your name and email address; tap enter to send.

The second book in the series, No One Sleeps, was published as an ebook in December and a paperback in June.  You can find my books at Amazon and all digital book sites.  Paperbacks of Thirteen Days in Milan and No One Sleeps can be ordered at bookstores around the world.

I’m writing Book 3 in the series, Cadorna Station, and will be researching this summer in Italy.

You can also sign up for my email newsletter at my web site.

Find my books in Apple’s iBookstore
At Amazon including # 1 Kindle best seller “Perfect Crime” 
Twitter: @JackLErickson

4 responses to “Aare River

    • Thanks Liz, glad you’re enjoying the 2013 Euro tour. Love your postcards, keep sending. Wish we could link up. Will you be in Milano?

      Like

    • Thanks for your comments, I’m glad you’re enjoying the site. I’m behind on a few
      posts, but will be adding in next week or two. Traveling and writing both take up
      a lot of time. Stay tuned for more from Switzerland, Germany, and Italy.

      Like

Leave a Reply

