Australian gum trees


Australian gum trees 

Australian gum tree on Paech farm

The most prevalent tree throughout Australia are gum trees.  They’re a form of eucalyptus, called eucalypts in Australia.  There are 700 – 900 species of Australian gums, with various ones common in different climates and elevations throughout the country.

Gum trees on Paech farm

Gum tree sentinels on a country road

I became quite intrigued by the Australian gum trees, their prevalence, size, shape, and vast numbers throughout the country.

During our week on the Paech farm, I had time to photograph them on walks along country roads.  I was especially intrigued by the dead ones.  After gum trees die, their bare trucks and branches seem to have a haunting presence over the landscape, silhouetted against an azure blue sky, in a field by themselves or in a gully.

Their bare branches look arthritic, twisted, gnarly, no two alike. They appeared sculpted by forces of nature — the wind, rain, and blazing sun. And they look like they will last forever.

* * * * *

Next: Barossa Valley, Walkabout Adelaide

As many of you know, I also write mysteries and romantic suspense novels.

I recently published my first international thriller, Thirteen Days in Milan, which is available on Kindle as well as other ereaders, tablets, and smartphones.

I’m back in Europe for the summer to hire a translator and to research my next book which will also be a thriller based in Milan.  I’ll be posting along the way from Milan, Stresa, Zurich and other locations.

I have a few posts on another blog,  Anatomy of a Thriller, where I write about the process of researching and writing an international thriller.  I’ll add more posts there as well.

Please share these links with writers or readers who might be interested.

Find my books in Apple’s iBookstore
At Amazon including # 1 Kindle best seller “Perfect Crime” 

 

2 responses to “Australian gum trees

Leave a Reply

